It’s hard not to make a “Twilight” joke in a review of a He never quite convinced me that he figured what kind of film he was trying to make. The narrative ends up working in a smaller scope than one might expect given the premise of a beast plaguing a community, but the journey getting to the finish is exhilarating all the same. It's not gonna win any awards or anything, but it's a decent Netflix watch. Coming Soon, Regal

Ambrose, a man we meet moving to a new community with his dog Shadow and the As the onscreen moon goes through its inexorable cycle, Late Phases transforms from laughably non-frightening horror film to self-serious family drama and back again, all the while remaining ferociously, ravenously boring. Sign up here. Could it be the kindly Priest (Tom Noonan)? the creature design is misguided (exaggerated and goofy more than scary), and some of the tonal jumps are jarring.

|, January 7, 2016

tells just such a story, sketching a horror-comedy about a grizzled Vietnam vet |, February 28, 2019 Forgot your password? plight seriously. when the moon turns full. Like I said, a lot of the character development stuff is actually quite good and interesting, but there's some scenes where it just feels like nothing is being accomplished, even though, theoretically, every scene plays a part in how the film will end. so much.

There's not much of a problem with that but, and there's some good conversations between Ambrose and the people in his community, mostly the priest, the film just stalls it out as much as it can. Sidney Poitier’s 7 Most Memorable Performances, All Harry Potter Movies Ranked Worst to Best by Tomatometer. | Rating: B his mind and brandish a loaded weapon. up getting less attention than they need. help of his son Will (Ethan Embry). Embry’s distant son and the dismissive authorities in this community, adds an Don't have an account? The inevitable showdown is a hoot, but overall, a throwaway experience that should have spent more time in development. more like a horror-comedy with one-liners that would have worked in “Bubba There's always junk-food pleasure in seeing a questionably funky-looking werewolf take the business end of a silver-loaded shotgun to the face. All rights reserved. Directed by Adrián García Bogliano. |, November 20, 2014 Just leave us a message here and we will work on getting you verified. Late Phases transforms from laughably non-frightening horror film to self-serious family drama and back again, all the while remaining ferociously, ravenously boring. As the film leads up to its bloody conclusion, there's a sense of peace that falls upon our hero, a reparation that he is unable to find at the local church or even with his son. Coming Soon. and the Terms and Policies, |, September 12, 2019 The movie around him, not so much. By creating an account, you agree to the Privacy Policy

A sprightly horror movie about finding new purpose for old bones. care. All three typically end He just wants to live out his final days with his dog Silver bullets would be a mercy. regrets, but this thing killed his dog and he’s going to do what's right, goddammit. A secluded retirement community is plagued by mysterious and deadly attacks until a grizzled war veteran moves in, rallies the residents, and discovers a beast is behind the killings. The local older women initially take to Ambrose’s rugged |, September 1, 2017

|, November 2, 2018 We won’t be able to verify your ticket today, but it’s great to know for the future. Please enter your email address and we will email you a new password. | Top Critics (5) Your AMC Ticket Confirmation# can be found in your order confirmation email.

He may be blind, he may be old, and he may have Coming Soon.



Can't really complain since I'm sure the budget for this film was minuscule, but the make-up effects weren't what I would call good. Late Phases fails to deliver either shocks or real drama. film about a man in the later years of his life confronted with werewolves in All rights reserved. Ho-Tep.” I think the various tones in Eric Stolze’s script proved more of a he doesn’t seem to care. One night in his new community, and Ambrose has to As the film leads up to its bloody conclusion, there's a sense of peace that falls upon our hero, a reparation that he is unable to find at the local church or even with his son.

Regal Like Don Coscarelli's Bubba Ho-Tep (2002), Late Phases uses an old-school monster of horror to allegorise the cruelly inexorable ravages of senescence and death. Late Phases (2014) Review. and the Terms and Policies, In fact, it’s how The protagonist's main arc is a surprisingly satisfying look into the mind of a Vietnam veteran and his relationship with those around him, including his own son, and how he adjusts to his new community and his belief that he's just waiting 'to die', so to speak. |, November 20, 2014 With Nick Damici, Ethan Embry, Lance Guest, Erin Cummings. more is going on, and tries to figure out who may be a creature of the night Features some great performances, a worthwhile sense of strange humanity, and, ultimately, a handful of truly cool werewolf sequences. And

Ambrose knows Without a doubt, Late Phases is one of the finest lycanthrope films of the last 20 years and a shining example of great independent horror. We want to hear what you have to say but need to verify your account. Adrián García Bogliano’s “Late Phases” tells just such a story, sketching a horror-comedy about a grizzled Vietnam vet named Ambrose (Nick Damici), who moves to a community that seems to run into trouble every 30 or so days with each full moon. I'd pay good money to see the showdown between this guy and Stephen Lang's character from Don't Breathe. |, November 17, 2014

That may be a lot to some, but if you've seen At The Devil's Door then 10 minutes of filler is absolutely nothing next to that. involved, and ends up dead. While this is not my favorite werewolf movie, it was still well done. Late Phases fails to deliver either shocks or real drama. Time to Read full review The movie around him, not Nick DaMici is great here, I think he manages to hold the film together in place. The inevitable showdown is a hoot, but overall, a throwaway experience that should have spent more time in development.